Get a protection order?
If you would like help with filing for a protection order please call our Victim Assistance Office...
Get help for my legal problem or my criminal charges?
The attorneys and staff of the Douglas County Attorney's Office are prohibited by law from...
Get help if my student is struggling to get to school
If a student is struggling with non-attendance, parents and guardians should first contact the...
Know when bond setting hearings occur?
Bond Setting Hearings are conducted by the Douglas County Court. They typically occur at Douglas...
Learn more about my child's referral to the County Attorney for not attending school?
Under Nebraska’s compulsory education law, school-aged children under the age of 18 must be...
Report a Bad Check?
Mail a photocopy of the bad check to Douglas County Attorney - Bad Check Division, 907 Civic...
Juvenile Division: Nicole Brundo, Deputy County Attorney, Division Lead
1701 Farnam Street
Hall of Justice, Room 601
Omaha, NE 68183
Our office is open Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM except the legal holidays of New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King Day, President’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veteran’s Day, Thanksgiving Day, Day after Thanksgiving, Christmas Day
Email Juvenile Division
The Juvenile Division of the Douglas County Attorney's Office is responsible for enforcement of Nebraska's Juvenile Code as it applies to the following occurrences within Douglas County:
Abuse / Neglect Petitions:
Juveniles who have been placed in protective custody and/or foster care due to suspected abuse and/or neglect. These petitions must be filed within 48 hours.
Juveniles who need to be placed in the custody of the Department of Health and Human Services due to illness or disabilities involving themselves or their parents.
Juveniles who are charged with misdemeanor or felony offenses and have been street released to their parents, or have been referred or transferred to Juvenile Court after being cited or arrested.
Also, children who are detained in the Douglas County Youth Center must have a petition filed within 48 hours to remain in detention.
Juveniles who have not been arrested or charged with a crime, but are at risk because of truancy, uncontrollable behavior, or behavior that is harmful to themselves or others.
The Douglas County Attorney's Office does refer some juveniles who have been charged with misdemeanor, felony, traffic, and/or status offenses to the Douglas County Juvenile Assessment Center for possible diversion from further formal juvenile court involvement.
*A juvenile is defined as someone who was under eighteeen years of age when an event occurred